

Ohio Travel Demand Model Users Group Spring Meeting

The meeting was held on Friday, March 19, 2021 via Zoom video conference and commenced at approximately 10:00 AM. The meeting started with a welcome and introduction of all attendees. Approximately 42 people were in attendance throughout the call.

A motion was made by Mark Byram to approve the previous meeting minutes. It was seconded by Rebekah Anderson. The motion passed.

Rebekah Anderson and Sam Granato presented on *History of (Statewide) Model Network Management and Development of Tools.* They covered how the model was created, reviewed the sources of data that are used in the model, and reviewed the use of Open StreetMap.

David Ory presented on *Network Management Tools – Network Wrangler 2.0*. This is an opensource Python network. A link was provided to learn more about the geojson data format: <u>https://geojson.io/</u>

Jonathan Avner presented on *Network Management Tools – Multiresolution Network Databases*. He discussed what multiresolution means, how it is implemented, and thoughts on how it can aid in ODOT's challenges. The goal of this tool is to create consistency in data and shared geography.

Howard Slavin presented on *Network Management Tools – Caliper Unified GIS and Modeling Network Solutions*. He discussed the TransCAD built-in tools and demonstrated conflation tools. He suggests one master network for Ohio with subsets for smaller geographies, such as MPOs.

A roundtable discussion took place at the end of the meeting. Discussion topics included what should be done to better manage networks, as well as what requirements are needed to make a route considered "routable".

In other business, the next MUG meeting will take place in June and will consist of SDE training. The June and September meetings will be held virtually. In ODOT updates, a job posting for an Engineer 4 position will be posted soon. The refreshment funds balance is unchanged at \$79 as no money was spent for this meeting. Lisa Householder will email out PDH certificates. A motion to accept two new members (Abhishek Bhargava and Regina Rollins) was passed.

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 1 PM.